Department of redundancy and superfluity

Redundancies are rife and rampant. This is hardly an unexpected surprise, given the excesses of today’s modern world. Some redundancies hit you over and above the head like a two-by-four. Others are more subtle, calling for an attentive eye for detail. When reading a magazine article, I usually tend to find at least one or more of these linguistic offenders. The surfeit of excess verbiage is making it increasingly more difficult for me to get through a whole book in its entirety. My only recourse is to pretend like these needless, expendable phrases don’t exist.

Clocking the time

The guiltiest culprits, naturally, are public servants, with their disgorgement of rules and regulations, foreign imports, and final outcomes. I suppose they think this sort of logorrhoea will help them ascend up the institutional ladder. For all I know, they’re required to take mandatory redundancy courses as part of their job description.

Close scrutiny reveals that the level of sloppiness in speech and writing is unprecedented until now. The reason, in my opinion, is because schools no longer teach even the basic essentials anymore. Many a time I’ve considered directly confronting teachers to call them out on a redundancy, but the end result would be an acrimonious relationship, so my usual custom is to zip my lips shut. At this point in time I’ll content myself with expressing my outrage through pen and pixel, but I do have future plans to contact the Person in Charge (There must be someone in charge, right?) to decry this scourge in our midst.

If only we could revert back to our past history, when men were men, women were women, and writing was writing. When contrasted against our glorious past, our current era certainly comes up short. In actual fact this mythical past has never existed, but it’s comforting to visualize it in my mind’s eye.

I suppose the solution to all this is to plan ahead, collaborate together, and summon our collective group will to give redundancy the heave-ho. Not only would government bureaucrats stop pestering us with their triplicate thoughts, but as an added bonus, newspaper articles would take a shorter duration of time to read. Sadly, however, I suspect the propensity toward excess verbosity may continue for some time to come.

Can you spot each and every redundancy in this post? (I’ll discuss the answers in my next installment.)

This entry was posted in Grammar, Language and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Department of redundancy and superfluity

  1. Danica says:

    Hilarious!

  2. Laura says:

    I’d like to award you the free, complimentary gift of a “Great Grammar Gripe” badge, which you can display and show with pride on your blog website.

Leave a Reply

